May 4, 2020 Update

Giving Tuesday Now

I and you are low on bandwidth, so let's make this quick.

Together we're traversing this time of tremendous loss and change. Too many, including me, have lost family and income. Despite this, we're all figuring out ways to help each other.

One such way is "Giving Tuesday Now," a moment reminding everyone to donate to community organizations. Please include Bike Tarrytown in your giving plan, so we can keep doing what we do best. What follows is a summary of that.

Give now at: https://biketarrytown.org/donate.php

Bonus: Get a free t-shirt when you donate over $100 by the end of Tuesday, May 5th. (T-shirt ordering info is below.)

Sincerely,

--Dan

Bike Match & Repair

* Are you looking for a bike so you can get to your essential job?
* Do you have a bike you're no longer using?

Send us an email and we'll hook you up!

Getting some of the bikes on the road has required investing in parts. We're looking for sponsors to cover these costs.

Since Sleepy Hollow and Tarrytown lack a bike shop, we're also making repairs. It's free for low income households.

Bike Shops are Essential

The initial NY Pause order allowed car repair shops to remain open but not bike repair shops. We were part of a coalition that lobbied the Governor and got bike shops designated as essential services. We also informed local shops how to stay open.

COVID-19 Streets

It's great to see SOOO many people walking and biking in town. Here is a compilation of these beautiful scenes. We added some examples of treatments the Villages and State can implement to make it safer for everyone.

Municipal action is also needed to save our restaurants. To provide adequate space for social distancing while dining and walking, Sleepy Hollow needs to convert some parking spaces to restaurant seating and Tarrytown needs to pedestrianize Main St from Broadway to Washington St.

https://twitter.com/i/moments/1257071053542653954

We've written the Trustees with suggestions along these lines. Add your voice for safe streets and better business today:

Sleepy Hollow

    Ken Wray <kwray@sleepyhollowny.org>,
    Denise Scaglione <dscaglione@sleepyhollowny.org>,
    Glenn Rosenbloom <grosenbloom@sleepyhollowny.org>,
    John Leavy <jleavy@sleepyhollowny.org>,
    Rachelle Gebler <rgebler@sleepyhollowny.org>,
    Sam Gonzalez <sgonzalez@sleepyhollowny.org>,
    Sandra Spiro <sspiro@sleepyhollowny.org>,
    Anthony Giaccio <agiaccio@sleepyhollowny.org>,
    Bike Tarrytown <info@biketarrytown.org>

Tarrytown

    Drew Fixell <dfixell@tarrytowngov.com>,
    Thomas Butler <tbutler@tarrytowngov.com>,
    Karen Brown <kbrown@tarrytowngov.com>,
    Robert Hoyt <rhoyt@tarrytowngov.com>,
    Paul Rinaldi <prinaldi@tarrytowngov.com>,
    Rebecca McGovern <bmcgovern@tarrytowngov.com>,
    Douglas Zollo <dzollo@tarrytowngov.com>,
    Richard Slingerland <rslingerland@tarrytowngov.com>,
    Bike Tarrytown <info@biketarrytown.org>

TZB Crosswalk

Between the new roles of 24/7 parents, teachers, etc, we're documenting why and how a safe crosswalk on Route 9 is needed at the Tappan Zee Bridge's cycling/walking path (next to 303 South Broadway). Details coming soon.

Stopping Silliness on the TZB

When you are (eventually) biking across the Tappan Zee Bridge's path, do you want to be forced to break your momentum by stopping 6 times? Of course not. So we pulled together a coalition and called on the Governor to fix this situation, along with some other details.

https://biketarrytown.org/tappan-zee-bridge/2020-03-30-sup-video-observations.php

https://twitter.com/BikeTarrytown/status/1244974383816421376

Ebikes!

E-bikes are now legal to own in New York. Operating them, is another matter... The new law contains several severe restrictions on where and how ebikes can be ridden.

We assembled the information and worked with local bike shops, advocates and elected officials to change things from the initial proposal. Our success was modest. So we've set the stage for what needs to be done and will keep pushing till the State gets it right. We'll also work with our local government to enable ebike use around here.

https://biketarrytown.org/new-york-state/ebikes-2020-governors-budget.php

Preserving Bus Service

Did you know 1.2 million trips are taken each year on the Route 13 bus. It is a key line connecting Sleepy Hollow and Tarrytown to White Plains and Ossining.

During street fairs and parades, the bus line gets disrupted, leaving our neighbors stranded at bus stops. We worked with the County to figure out alternate routings and event configurations to minimize the detours. Our suggestions were presented to Sleepy Hollow's Mayor and Trustees in early March.

https://biketarrytown.org/better-buses-better-biking/st-patricks-parade-better-buses-2020.pdf

Merchant Meeting

Merchants and Bike Tarrytown members met at the Shames JCC on March 2. During social event, we ate food and drank while talking about how making our streets nicer for walking and cycling will boost business.

Delicious food was graciously provided by Grass Roots Kitchen. Amazing beer that was brewed in Tarrytown, made completely from New York ingredients was donated by Duncan's Abbey. Riverview Wine and Spirits gave some wine.

We deeply appreciate the Shames JCC staff for hosting and their crucial, fantastic logistical help.

Here are the posters that lined the walls, serving as discussion points. https://biketarrytown.org/presentations/2020-03-02-more-people-more-profits_low-res.pdf

Targeted Fixes

* Creating safe passage through Kingsland Point Park's gate https://twitter.com/BikeTarrytown/status/1243659791190409216

* Getting ADA compliant pedestrian buttons at Routes 9 and 119 https://twitter.com/BikeTarrytown/status/1240062311445999628

* Pruning trees on Broadway's sidewalk between Elizabeth & Main Streets https://twitter.com/BikeTarrytown/status/1232307797657866242

* Ensuring access to the Old Croton Aqueduct at Franklin St https://twitter.com/BikeTarrytown/status/1248969533408391169

* Fixing the crosswalk sign at Washington Irving School https://twitter.com/BikeTarrytown/status/1205320814586933248

T-shirts and Sweatshirts

You know our logo is amazing. So score some for your very own in the form of these top quality garments. All sizes available, including youth sizing for the Gildan items. Email us with what you want.

* Mens style T-shirt: Gildan Ultra Cotton ($30)
* Womens style T-shirt: American Apparel Ladies Fine Jersey ($30)
* Sweatshirt: Gildan Heavy Blend ($50)

Photos: https://twitter.com/BikeTarrytown/status/1257317498392731648

biketarrytown.org | info@biketarrytown.org | T: @BikeTarrytown | F: @BikeTarrytn